-Navigation-
Oldest - Older - Newer - Newest
-Reference-
Archives - Member Listing - Characters
-Contact-
Send an Email - Leave a Note - Add to AIM

A blatant lack of respect.
July 07, 2004
10:26 p.m.
I went over to Ian's to give him Devil May Cry yesterday. I think I may have botched the whole 'let's go see a movie' thing when I was like, 'Seriously. Call me. Don't forget. Seriously.' etc.

Apparently him and Caitlin finally got together. That's been a long time coming, and I'm really excited for the both of them. It always seemed so obvious to me about them.

The rest of the day was not nearly so happy, though. I thought the Red Line was right by his house, so I figured that I'd have no trouble getting down to work, but it turned out to be the Blue Line. From Addison to Washington, change to the Red Line, from Washington back up to Wilson. At least I was only 10 minutes late, but then I find out that I'm going to be alone in the office for 4 hours -- Sarita took the day off.

I hadn't eaten, so I was like, "I need some food." Lucy was leaving in 5 minutes, so I go to Nina. Nina's leaving in 30. Nina is one of those self-important people that, you know, if somebody else gets fucked over from her plans, well, then they should have made better ones of their own.

So I'm complaining about how I'm always making sure my time slot is filled when I have an emergency, and no one else seems to give a damn, and she actually tells me that I should just do it right back to them; just screw somebody else over because they've done it to me. I was halfway into dismissing that, saying, you know, that it would only pass around more ammunition about "Well he did it to me" when I realized that this was -Nina-. I could easily just had said, "Oh. Well, in that case, you'll have to stay here until 4:30. I don't really care that you have plans; you've left -me- alone before . . ."

When I came back, Nina wasn't -even- at the desk. There were two students that had complaints for -me-, now, that there wasn't anybody at the desk who could help them. I was so pissed.

So anyway, today.

First off, a McDonald's double cheeseburger is a very cost-effective way to eat. Especially if you add bacon.

I get into the office and Boss Mark (different from Mark) tells me to come with him to a faculty meeting. I've been doing some marketing with him for a few weeks now, and he trusts my opinion.

The meeting was mainly about his push for recruitment, and how to institute a reward system where, say, if I get 15 new-to-college students to take even a single credit and finish the semester, I'll be rewarded with, for instance, a digital camera, or one of those 2-gig Flash memory sticks. If I get 30, I find myself the proud owner of a Palm Pilot.

I might be able to get 15. Might. Probably not 30, though.

At the end of the day, as I'm walking out, the girl that Nina is supposed to be a notetaker for comes in and says that Nina tried to set up a friend to do it, but that the friend never showed up. I basically got volunteered. Now, I've never taken a note in my life. Suddenly I'm thrust into Sociology 201.

Well, shit.

I found out that Nina's done this before.

*sigh*


Brought to you in part by:
Diaryland